Pennine Cycleway

Our 2014 annual cycle tour with our friends was the Pennine Cycleway (also known as National Cycle Network Route 68) which we undertook over nine days in June. Our team consisted of myself and Sarah, as well as Andy S, Andy S, Neil, Ian and Tracey. Yes, there were three Andy’s!

The Pennine Cycleway route runs up the spine of England and through three National Parks between Berwick-upon-Tweed and Derby, a distance of approximately 350 miles. Following on from the beautiful and relatively serene Coast and Castles South route we cycled in 2013, the ride proved a completely different experience! Just as beautiful and dramatic scenery but with the added twist of the challenge of the Pennines. The route takes in some of the most spectacular landscapes and unspoilt countryside that England has to offer, including  the Northumberland National Park, the Eden valley and of course the Pennines. It also passes over 60 tourist attractions and 85 towns and villages.

20140614_142035_Quay Walls
Berwick-Upon-Tweed, ready to start the Pennine Cycleway

You can view all our Pennine Cycleway our adventures by clicking on the links below:

Pennine Cycleway Itinerary
Day 1 – Berwick-Upon-Tweed to Wooler
Day 2 – Wooler to Bellingham
Day 3 – Bellingham to Alston
Day 4 – Alston to Orton
Day 5 – Orton to Settle
Day 6 – Settle to Hebden Bridge
Day 7 – Hebden Bridge to Chisworth
Day 8 – Chisworth to Hartington
Day 9 – Hartington to Derby

You can view our full Pennine Cycleway route below:

Leave a Reply